Hello everybody!!

How are you all doing?? I hope you are all doing well and that you are learning new things everyday and doing exciting and fun things each day!

First of all, sorry for not being active these past few days. I have been trying to complete my draft for my thesis which was due today and after a few sleepless nights and being sleep deprived(I swear I saw a bed in the middle of the lecture hall today while in the midst of a lecture) for this whole week, I FINALLY managed to complete it in time! 😀 Oh the satisfaction of having to not think about it constantly and chasing for time every day!

Anyway, now that my draft thesis is done and dusted, I can now catch up on my blog and book reading.. Oh my gosh it feels waaay too long! Also, remember the exciting thing I mentioned in one of my previous blogs, https://euniceisblogging.wordpress.com/2016/01/21/that-one-day/? Yes, that my friends, is finally going to commence in two months time! It is actually our very own annual Malaysian Night organised by the Malaysian Society in my university here in Strathclyde Uni, Glasgow, Scotland. This event is basically about us Malaysians and non-Malaysians coming together to celebrate the various Malaysian cultures showcased through performances, acts and of course food(YEASS FOOD!!) that are homemade and prepared by our Malaysian friends from scratch and it is one of the biggest events that happen every year in Strathclyde University.

My first Malaysian Night was last year where I volunteered to be one of the programme directors(did not know what came over me as I had never volunteered for a committee position before) and not gonna lie, I honestly loved it. I thought taking up a position this big would be stressful but it was actually exhilarating and eye-opening. I think my most favourite thing was probably the fact that I had the opportunity to critique each performances and experiencing behind the scenes and joining in in all the rehearsals. Heh heh, being one of the leaders is great :p Nah just joking.. The best part of Malaysian Night for me personally is seeing everyone, be it your own closest friends or your other classmates from other countries gathering at one place enjoying diverse cultures and getting along with each other. Also, the teamwork from the committee, performers and caterers(cooks) coming together and working each of our asses off to pull this off successfully as well as the tired yet happy faces after curtain call.

Therefore, after having a blast last year, we decided to organize another one again and this time, I’ve taken the role of the Head Programme Director. Had doubts before taking up the role but based on everyone’s lovely opinion on how well I did as one of the programme director last year, I decided to give it a go once again which I am extremely excited for! The theme this year is amazing too which is Back to School(came from the brilliant minds of this year’s new committee) and this time we will conduct a play and showcase our Malaysian school system as well as the Malaysian students’ antiques during intervals and surely enough, there are performances. Not forgetting(and never will) the food!

Everything is basically ready from the flow to the scripts and we will be having our first rehearsal this Saturday!!(jumping up and down screaming!!) and of course without a doubt I will blog the progress from the beginning to the end throughout the preparation for the D-Day(5th of March: Countdown starts now!) and also the aftermath(maybe a cheeky drinking session with le committee/friends :p although I don’t drink) if you have me?

If you’d like, I am willing to post pictures and maybe videos of the preparation in my upcoming blogs? Let me know if you want me to upload them here 😀

Also, in the meantime, I would really love to know how your week went and what exciting things you did in the comment section 😀 I have lost contact with you guys for what it seems like a long time and would really love a good ol’ catch up session 😀

Until then, I hope you have a great day/week ahead and take care! ❤

Eunice signing off…

 

